Just checking in…

I realise it has been a while since I posted anything. Truth be told I have been feeling rather flat and disheartened lately. Partly because I have no money and don’t live in London and haven’t been able to get to see half the things I wanted to (such as Title Of Show and The Colour Purple). This doesn’t however mean that my theatre trips have stopped – far from it. I have actually seen the following:

Top Hat – to write about it here would not do it justice so I shall try to do a full review post of it, but I thought this was brilliant and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Les Miserables (I will blog this properly on Thursday as I am seeing this again then)

A Chorus Line – I just don’t know about this one. I knew what the show was about and I knew some of the music. But if I’m honest, I really didn’t enjoy it, in fact I actually got quite bored at one point, and I never get bored watching musicals! I don’t know if the cast were having a slow day, whether I wasn’t in the mood (although I had been really looking forward to it for months and was delighted to be getting to see it before it closed) or whether it just wasn’t what I was expecting. I thought I was going to be blown away – maybe that was the problem – but I heard so many good things about it and as I said, I had some knowledge of the show so didn’t go in completely blind. I don’t like to say I didn’t enjoy it but I certainly won’t be in a hurry to see it again should it ever be on anywhere and I left feeling thoroughly disappointed. It had good moments of course, but in my opinion not enough to stop me looking around the auditorium, checking the time and wondering how much longer the two hours was going to be. I hate leaving shows I didn’t like – I feel bad for not enjoying them.

Billy Elliot (for the third time) – I won’t write this up as I have done a recent post on this show. Seeing as the two previous times I saw it though it had Killian Donnelly in it, it was a little strange to have a different Tony. There were a few new cast members but all were very good, the MIchael had only been in it for a week but he acted as though he’d been performing the role for years. I had seen Harrison’s Billy previously.

The Three Musketeers by Barbershopera at Salisbury Playhouse, this was a review and can be seen in its original format here: http://www.thepublicreviews.com/the-three-musketeers-the-salberg-salisbury-playhouse-salisbury/

A Little Hotel on the Side at Bath Theatre Royal, also a review and the original of this can be found here: http://www.thepublicreviews.com/a-little-hotel-on-the-side-theatre-royal-bath/

I think that is the list. Though after seeing Les Miserables on Thurs I will be seeing the new Phantom cast on the following Tuesday and then the Commitments on the Sunday after that. Phew! These will all be written up of course so watch this space for those. I am really excited to see the Commitments, I am also hoping to catch some shows at Bristol Hippodrome, I know they have Cabaret there this week and Evita there soon. I need to find out if there is any way I can get to see those. If anyone wishes to accompany me then I would love to see you.

Although I will be writing about Les Miserables when I see it next, I must say that Tam Mutu will not be on as Javert. Thankfully I was fortunate enough to see him on Saturday, something I have been trying to do since he started in the role, and it was absolutely worth the wait. The guy is stunning as the law abiding, criminal hating policeman. He has such a strong voice, I literally cannot fault anything about his performance. I was sadly too far away to see facial expressions and things so can not really comment on those but from where I was sitting his acting looked as strong as his voice. Adam Linstead and Nicky Swift were also on in place of Cameron Blakely and Wendy Ferguson as the Thenardiers. I personally prefer Cameron’s Thenardier, though Adam was still very good, and I am yet to see Wendy undertake the role of Madam.

I do also have a couple more interviews coming up soon so I shall publish those as soon as they have been sorted. I am also thinking of writing a review for Nadim Namaan’s album, We All Want The Same. I think I shall try to do that this week, but I have been so busy. It is rather marvellous though and I would recommend it.

I have been wondering guys if you could please help me out? I am looking to make this blog better in any way I can so if there is anyone you would like to see me interview, something you would like me to write about or some other way to improve this then please let me know. I will then do what I can to sort it. Also if you could share my blog wherever you can, be that Twitter, Tumblr or Facebook etc (if you enjoy what you read) then please do, I will be extremely grateful. I believe that if folk are good enough to take their time out to answer my questions, then the least I can do is give them plenty of exposure to make it worth their while. Of course, if you don’t like what I write then I would also be interested to know why so I can hopefully improve this blog for everyone.

I would finally like to add that I had a singing lesson with Craig Mather this weekend. I loved my lessons with Fra but I have found it hard to pin him down lately so Craig offered to teach me. He is fab and I would definitely recommend him to anyone. I was a blithering, self conscious, nervous wreck, but Craig was great and after about 15 minutes I was able to at least attempt what he was asking. So if you’re looking for lessons, then look him up.

Apologies that this is not particularly exciting but I thought I should check in with you all and let you know where I’ve been and what will be coming up, but please do watch this space as there should be some exciting things coming soon. As always thank you for reading, thank you for your feedback and most of all thank you for your support. I appreciate every single one of you who contributes (by reading, sharing, answering questions or even by performing in the shows I’m reviewing).

Keep Dreaming,

Naomi xx

Leave a Reply

