Scott Alan answers…

I am always incredibly grateful to anyone who agrees to answer some questions for me and I appreciate every single one of them. This week however I am really excited to offer to you my interview with ‘Man of the Moment’ Scott Alan. For those who may be unfamiliar with him, he is a popular songwriter who has worked with some of the biggest names in musical theatre and who many others are hoping to work with sometime soon. I would like to add at this point, that this blog – ignitedbyadream – is named after one of his tracks. Read on to find out more about this fantastic composer:

1. You write some stunning music. Who, what and where do you get your inspiration from?

 From my own life.  I don’t write unless I have something to say.  I’m not really someone who writes because I have to.  I write because I need to release.

 

2. Was writing music something you always wanted to do? Did you ever consider performing instead?

 I started as a performer.  It wasn’t until I was 18 that I started writing.  

3. What was the first piece you composed?

 Kiss the Air when I was 18.  
 
Watch Oliver Tompsett perform this piece here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K0R9-2ms2w

 

4. How do you go about composing? Does the tune just come to you? Do you get the words first? Please talk us through the songwriting process 🙂

I normally sit down at the piano because I am feeling lost and the piano is like a friend that I can speak to and only speaks back with the right words.  So, for me, I just start playing chords and singing words that I am feeling.  Writing is very emotionally driven for me.  I normally know that a song feels right when I feel extremely emotional from what I am writing and then feel like I have cleared my head of whatever was pushing me to write in the first place.  

 

5. Home. Your full musical. Really hoping this makes it to the West End but please could you tell us more about it?

The show is just a beautiful piece about returning home and what comes along with that.  I remember going back to my childhood home a few years ago and being surprised at how small it was.  I always remembered it so differently.  In a way, a home is filled with the ghosts of your past.  HOME represents those ghosts as well as the present.  It’s a reflective piece but is extremely honest.  There are no helicopters or French flags.  

 

6. You did a gig in London last week. You were very honest and had some amazing talent there. How did you feel when it all came together?  The reviews were fantastic.

I am a total perfectionist.  I don’t trust anyone and like to control everything so I think it was hard in some ways because I had to learn to trust because while planning the concert I was miles away from where the concert was being planned.  That being said, I am thrilled with the reception the concert had and I am honored to be able to be given the ability to travel back to my favorite city and perform with some of the most beautiful talent for the most incredible audience filled if dreamers. 

7. Do you have a favourite composition (of your own) and if so, why?

Anything Worth Holding On To (from ‘What I Wanna Be When I Grow Up’) is my favourite song of mine.  When I am feeling lost in my life I often sit down and play that song to myself.  It sums up a lot of the weight I often feel upon my shoulders.  
 

 

8. Is there a song, score or other piece of music that you wish YOU had written?

 There are songs and scores I am fans of but if I had written them they wouldn’t have been as beautifully written.  The Secret Garden is one of my favourites.  Every song by Joni Mitchell.  

 

9. You have collaborated with some fantastic singers.  Is there anyone you haven’t worked with yet that you would like to?

After seeing ‘Merrily We Roll Along’ in London I am now obsessed with Jenna Russell, so I am determined to work with her.  Tina Arena is one of my favourite vocalists so I also dream of working with her.  Of course, Celine.  I am gay and proud.  A lot of the singers I want to work with I haven’t even heard of yet.  I love new talent.  You find a determination and passion that you don’t always find in talent that has become a little more bitter and jaded by the profession.  

 

10. Like myself,  depression has been a problem for you. Have you managed to overcome this or are you still attempting to deal with it? Also how?

Depression isn’t a problem.  That is a major misunderstanding.  It is a way of life.  I have suffered from depression for many years.  I didn’t know it was something that could be treated so I just felt lost.  I didn’t speak of it.  I just used music as an outlet until I found myself losing control of my day to day activities.  Thankfully, I have been on medication for the past year and a half and have an incredibly supportive partner who helps me deal with some of my lower days.  And, there are many.  

 

11. Do you have any advice for people with depression?

Seek help.  Don’t be ashamed to be able to say ‘I suffer from depression and I need help.’  There is nothing wrong with you.  You are normal.  It’s when you feel ‘different’ that you start question your life. 

12. Have Travis (your partner) describe you in three words?

 Opinionated, determined, caring.  
 
 
 
 
13. How would you choose to spend your idea of a perfect day?
 
Taking a nap with Travis and our dogs. 

 

14. If you weren’t a songwriter,  what do you think you would be doing instead?

I wouldn’t be here if I wasn’t a writer. 

15. What is next for Mr Alan?

I guess we will have to wait and find out.  Every day is a new adventure and it’s always worth it to stay around to find out what that might be.  

I know I am amongst many who very much hope that Scott will return to the UK again very soon – he is based in the US – especially after the success of his O2 gig. Hopes are high that ‘Home’ will make it onto the West End, at present we don’t know for sure but watch this space.

Here are a couple more tracks for anyone who has not yet experienced this mans work or just for the enjoyment of those who have. Absolutely beautiful, I cannot sing the praises of Alan’s work highly enough.

Always sung by Sierra Boggess: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkctwANlLQ8

Take Me Away performed by Jamie Muscato and Cordelia Farnworth: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uo-LsMpYSY

Again performed by Hadley Fraser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2-cuyRaIfA

Keep in touch with what he is up to by following him on Twitter @ScottAlanNet. Many more videos can be found on YouTube so take some time and have a watch, I promise you won’t regret it. I would like to say thank you once again for answering my questions and for being so honest with his replies. I hope you have all enjoyed reading more about him – I have no doubt we will be hearing a lot more about him soon.

You can buy his albums from Amazon or download them from iTunes .

Keep dreaming,

Naomi xx

All videos are used with the kind permission of Scott Alan.

Leave a Reply

